Kentucky Speedway

NASCAR, IRL, ARCA return to Sparta in 2009

Four ticket plans available for 2009 racing season

From the Kentucky Speedway

SPARTA, Ky. (November 2008) – Four affordable ticket plans for the six-event 2009 Kentucky Speedway season that will include two doubleheader race days went on sale Oct. 29.

Kentucky Speedway
2009 Race Schedule

• May 9: ARCA RE/MAX Series “Kentucky 150”
• June 12: NASCAR Nationwide Series Practice Day
• June 13: NASCAR Nationwide Series “Kentucky 300”
• July 17: NASCAR Truck Series and ARCA RE/MAX Series Practice Day
• July 18: ARCA RE/MAX Series “Kentucky 150” and NASCAR Truck Series “Built Ford Tough 225 Pres. by the Greater Cincinnati Ford Dealers”
• July 31: IndyCar Series and Firestone Indy Lights Practice Day
• Aug. 1: Firestone Indy Lights “Kentucky 100” and IndyCar Series “Kentucky 300”
• Tickets and information: www.KentuckySpeedway.com

The four-weekend season will mark the facility’s 10th year of operation and open May 9 with an ARCA RE/MAX Series 150-mile event. Racing will continue through an Aug. 1 high-speed doubleheader featuring IndyCar Series and Firestone Indy Lights primetime action.
Season plan prices range from $165 to $255, according to seat location, meaning fans can enjoy a reserved seat for each of the six race events for as little as $27.50. Benefit-rich plans also include VIP parking for each event. This can be exchanged for general campground admission for a savings of $30, one cold pit pass for each race day with each ticket purchased and the opportunity to purchase additional race tickets at a discount. 
Speedway visitors also will be entertained with event-day concerts spotlighting well-known artists. All concerts are included with the price of an event ticket and the line-up will be announced at a future date.
Ticket plans can be reserved and renewed online at www.kentuckyspeedway.com or by calling (859) 578-2300, through Tickets.com outlets including Meijer stores and by visiting the Kentucky Speedway ticket office in Ft. Mitchell, Ky., at 400 Buttermilk Pike, Suite 100 near the Montgomery Inn restaurant or the track Fan Center located off of Interstate 71 Exit 57 and Ky. Hwy. 35 N in Sparta, Ky.
The ARCA RE/MAX Series will open a speedway season for the ninth time with its 18th all-time appearance at the track. Roush Fenway Racing stock car talent Ricky Stenhouse Jr., claimed his first Kentucky Speedway win on opening weekend last season by 0.374 of a second over former Formula 1 racing star Scott Speed. The competitive field also is expected to feature 2008 series champion Justin Allgaier and nine-time series title winner Frank Kimmel of Clarksville, Ind.
NASCAR Nationwide Series drivers will take center stage June 13 when they contest a 300-mile battle. A track record crowd of 73,195 witnessed the first series win by highly-touted Joe Gibbs Racing driver Joey Logano. The 18-year-old, who will take over the No. 20 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series machine next season, became the third straight competitor to claim his first series win at the track and the third straight NASCAR Nationwide Series regular to triumph in the Bluegrass State. Stephen Leicht and David Gilliland respectively accomplished the feat in 2007 and 2006.
Grizzled veterans and up-and-coming hopefuls will be part of the 10th all-time NASCAR Truck Series visit to Kentucky Speedway July 18 for the “Built Ford Tough 225 Presented by the Greater Cincinnati Ford Dealers.” Johnny Benson became the ninth different series winner in track history by guiding his machine across the finish line 0.474 of a second in front his Bill Davis Racing teammate Michael Annett in 2008. The margin was the third closest for a series event at the track. A 150-mile ARCA RE/MAX Series event will precede the truck action and mark the first time the two series will appear in a same-day doubleheader at the track. Speed took a tight 0.541 of a second victory over Sean Caisse in the July edition of the ARCA RE/MAX Series “Kentucky 150” last season.
Rocket-like race speeds of more than 200 mph will light up the Kentucky Speedway night Aug. 1 when the IndyCar Series celebrates its 10th Kentucky Speedway anniversary. Scott Dixon visited Victory Lane at the track for the first time in 2008. The reigning series champion nipped Helio Castroneves at the finish line by 0.5532 of a second in the fourth-closest series finish in track history. Sure-to-be exciting Firestone Indy Lights Series action will open the action with a twilight 100-mile tilt. Last season, Dillion Battistini aced out James Davison by an ultra-thin 0.0814 of a second margin at the finish line. The dramatic finish marked the sixth time a series race was decided by fractions of a second on the speedway 1.5-mile tri-oval.

Back to 2008 Kentucky Speedway Articles.



Pick-Up Locations Subscribe Staff Advertise Contact Submit A Story Our Advertisers Columnists Archive Area Links Area Events Search our Site Home Monthly Articles Calendar of Events Kentucky Speedway Madison Chautauqua Madison Ribberfest Madison Regatta