2015 Madison Ribberfest
Aug. 21-22

Madison Ribberfest

Columbus, Ohio, team wins
Madison Ribberfest cooking contest

Ferdinand, Ind., team takes second place

(August 2015) - Todd Wernicke’s Bark Brothers BBQ team knows the power of consistency when it comes to barbecue competition. You can be great in chicken and pork but poor in other categories, and that won’t get you atop the leaderboard.

Photo courtesy of Ken Schneider

Madison Ribberfest Grand Champion Bark Brothers BBQ from Columbus, Ohio, is pictured at the awards ceremony Aug. 22. They are from left Todd Bushbaum, head cook; Todd Wernicke, team captain; Angi Bushmaum, Madison Bushbaum, Jeff Burgmeier, Mark Burgmeier and Janice Burgmeier.

But on Aug. 21-22 at the Madison Ribberfest pro cooking competition, it all came together for the Columbus, Ohio-based team when the garnered more points than any of the other 64 teams to clinch the Grand Champion trophy. They won by a surprising five points ahead of second place Eat Mor Butt BBQ of Ferdinand, Ind., in what is typically a tight finish among pro teams.
“Consistency got us the win,” said Wernicke, 44, a CAD designer of retail advertising displays for many large companies.
The margins between the third, fourth and fifth teams was miniscule, by comparison.
Bark Brothers BBQ won the 14th annual Indiana State Championship BBQ title at Madison by placing seventh in chicken, 10th in pork ribs, 14th in pork and 11th in brisket.
Wernicke said he was first turned onto competitive barbecue contests in 2011 when his friend invited him to attend a contest in Long Island, N.Y. He was immediately sold on forming his own team and did so in April 2012. “I’ve been competing ever since.”
He joined up with three other men – a neighbor and his buddies. Although that neighbor, Mark Burgmeier, now lives in Cincinnati, and the other two teammates now live in Dayton, Ohio, the four men continue to compete as a team.

Photo courtesy of Ken Schneider

Madison Ribberfest Reserve Grand Champion team Eat Mor Butt BBQ of Ferdinand, Ind., is pictured at the awards ceremony Aug. 22. From left are Drew Garrett, Ribberfest representative; Tom Hasegawa of sponsor Arvin Sango Inc.; Chris Roos, cook team member; Dan Baughman of sponsor Arvin Sango Inc.; and Keith Helming, head cook of the team.

This was the team’s first appearance in Madison. They tried to get in last year but sent in their entry too late. “We were among the first to enter this year,” Wernicke said.
“We had heard a lot of good things about the Madison contest. It was a beautiful site, and we knew there would be a lot of top teams there.”
The Reserve Grand Champion (second place) team was led by Keith Helming and cook Chris Roos.

2015 Madison Ribberfest-Indiana State Barbeque Cookoff
Sanctioned by the Kansas City
Barbeque Society
(Pro Cooking Contest)
Overall Winners
(65 teams entered)

1. Bark Brothers BBQ, Todd Wernicke, Columbus, Ohio
2. Eat Mor Butt BBQ, Keith Helming, Ferdinand, Ind.
3. Grey Street BBQ, Nathan Dexter, Avon, Ind.
4. Hug Hogs, Frank Denton, New Palestine, Ind.
5. Yellow River BBQ, Jeff Sharp, Plymouth, Ind.
6. Victory Smokers, Ray McIntire, Beavercreek, Ohio
7. Qubed, Craig Lyjak, Loveland, Ohio
8. Monster-Que, Tom Anderson, Springfield, Ill.
9. Just Here for the Beer, Hal Wagner, Sellersburg, Ind.
10. Velvet Smoke, Matt Schneider, Cincinnati

1. Fowl Butt BBQ, Decatur, IN
2. Smoke Me Silly, Madison, Ala.
3. Velvet Smoke, Cincinnati

Pork Ribs
1. Hug Hogs, New Palestine, Ind.
2. Smokin T's, Mt. Vernon, Ill.
3. Victory Smokers, Beavercreek, Ohio

Pork Butt or Shoulder
1. Yellow River BBQ, Plymouth, Ind.
2. Just Here for the Beer, Sellersburg, Ind.
3. Feel the Burn, Kettering, Ohio

Beef Brisket
1. Making Meat BBQ, Indianapolis
2. Eat Mor Butt BBQ, Ferdinand, Ind.
3. Grey Street BBQ, Avon, Ind.

Anything But
1. Whiskey Whiskers BBQ, Veedersburg, Ind.
2. Butts-N-Racks, Madison, Ind.
3. Extra Mile BBQ, Loveland, Ohio

1. Yellow River BBQ, Plymouth, Ind.
2. House of Swine, Brownstown, Ind.
3. Bluegrass Smokers, Crescent Springs, Ky.

Galloputin Award winner: ACME BBQ, Madison, Ind. (Award is given in honor of the late Jeff Garrett, Madison Ribberfest founder. Recognizes the team that exhibits Garrett’s “spirit of barbecue and wicked sense of humor.”)

2015 Madison Courier
Backyard Blast Results
(Cooking contest for amateurs)
Pork Ribs
Anything But

Photo courtesy of Ken Schneider

Madison Ribberfest Kidz Q winners are pictured Aug. 22. From left are Sara Hare, Ribberfest Kidz Q chair; Reagan McIntire, Nathaniel Baugh, J. Lee, Damien Gibson and sponsor Madsion Kroger store manager Marie Otto.

2014 Kidz Q Contest Results
(Competitors were given ribeye steak to grill)

8 to 11 year olds
1. Jaylin Lee, Madison, Ind.
2. Nathaniel Baugh

12 to 15 year olds
1. Reagan McIntire, Beavercreek, Ohio
2. Damian Gibson, Madison, Ind.

Pigmania Pig
Decorating Contest

Judge’s Choice:
“Pulled Pork” by Mane Attractions, David and Tonya Schmidt

People’s Choice: “Pulled Pork” by Mane Attractions,
David and Tonya Schmidt

Back to 2015 Madison Ribberfest Articles.



Copyright 1999-2015, Kentuckiana Publishing, Inc.

Pick-Up Locations Subscribe Staff Advertise Contact Submit A Story Our Advertisers Columnists Archive Area Links Area Events Search our Site Home Monthly Articles Calendar of Events Kentucky Speedway Madison Chautauqua Madison Ribberfest Madison Regatta