2010 Madison Regatta

Lucas Oil signs on as 2010
Madison Regatta title sponsor

Mayor helped seal the deal with company CEO

Staff Report

(May 2010) – Madison Regatta Inc. on April 7 announced the signing of Lucas Oil Corp. as title sponsor for the 2010 Madison Regatta, to be held July 3-4 on the Ohio River in Madison, Ind.
“Forrest and Charlotte Lucas are very excited about being involved in this outstanding event in their home state of Indiana," Lucas Oil spokesperson Cathy Hale said. "They have been very impressed with the volunteer effort by the citizens of the Madison area, who have supported their wonderful community celebration and kept it successful for 60 years.”
Madison Mayor Tim Armstrong, working directly with Lucas Oil CEO Forrest Lucas, ironed out the details of the 2010 agreement. The agreement also includes Lucas Oil product sponsorship in the H1 unlimited hydroplane series headed by former Madison resident Sam Cole, who was also instrumental in the original contacts with Lucas Oil.
Lucas Oil Co., founded in 1989, is a producer of high quality automotive oils, additives and lubricants. Company founder, president and CEO Forrest Lucas began his career as a trucker in Indiana, expanding his operation over the next 20 years. Seeing the need for a better lubricant for his trucking operation, Lucas began his search eventually leading to the creation of his own special formula for the trucking industry. Lucas Oil gained significant status and name recognition when in February 2006 the company secured the naming rights for the new stadium in Indianapolis, current home to the Indianapolis Colts. The company has a major manufacturing facility and headquarters in Corydon, Indiana and corporate headquarters in Corona, Calif.
This will be the 60th anniversary of the Madison Regatta, featuring the fastest race boats in the world. The Lucas Oil Indiana Governor’s Cup Regatta along with a week long festival attracts upwards of 50,000 to 60,000 spectators and is the longest running stop on the H1 Unlimited Hydroplane schedule. Madison will also serve as the inaugural race site for the 2010 H1 Unlimited racing season.
Headlining the Unlimited fleet this year will be the reigning 2009 H1 Unlimited National Hydroplane Champion Oh Boy! O’Berto-Miss Madison racing team, also based in Madison. The Oh Boy! O’Berto will again be sporting U1 on their hull designating them as national champions for the second consecutive year.
“We are pleased and excited by the generous sponsorship opportunity Lucas Oil has provided to us," Madison Regatta president Crystal McHargue said. "On behalf of the entire Madison Regatta organization and the city of Madison, I want to thank Mr. Forrest Lucas and the entire Lucas Oil organization. Having such a great company with close ties to Indiana join forces to stage this unique and historic racing event is especially gratifying. We also wish to thank Madison Mayor Tim Armstrong for his leadership in making securing the Lucas Oil title sponsorship.”

• For more information on the Lucas Oil Indiana Governor’s Cup Madison Regatta, visit: www.madisonregatta.com or call (812) 265-5000

Back to 2010 Madison Regatta Articles.



Copyright 1999-2015, Kentuckiana Publishing, Inc.

Pick-Up Locations Subscribe Staff Advertise Contact Submit A Story Our Advertisers Columnists Archive Area Links Area Events Search our Site Home Monthly Articles Calendar of Events Kentucky Speedway Madison Chautauqua Madison Ribberfest Madison Regatta