Oldham Countian of the Year

Chamber honors architect Scott
for his contributions to the community

By Don Ward

BUCKNER, Ky. (June 2004) – Fran Scott moved to Oldham County, Ky., in 1984 after an illustrious career as an architect and professor at the University of Kentucky. But looking back on his accomplishments since the move, it appears his career was only just getting started.

Fran Scott

Photo by Don Ward

Fran Scott accepts his award
at the chamber banquet.

Scott formed his architectural firm, Scott-Klausing & Co. with partner and former UK student, Stan Klausing, and together the two have left their marks on the county through many building designs and contributions to the area’s economic development efforts.
Scott, 60, was honored for those efforts May 11 when the Oldham County Chamber of Commerce named him its prestigious Oldham Countian of the Year at its annual dinner, held at the John W. Black Community Center. The award was presented by last year’s double winners, Barry and Bobbi Stoess.
In a videotaped tribute to Scott, he was praised for his energy, volunteerism, organizational skills, vision and hard work by interviewees Barry Stoess, Klausing, Oldham County School Board Superintendent Blake Haselton, former Oldham county economic development official Amanda Sinette Ingram, and son, Marty Scott.
“This county is really remarkable, and I’m really honored to be chosen Oldham Countian of the Year,” Scott said in accepting the award before a crowd of nearly 200 and many family members and friends who gathered in the back of the room as he was being introduced.
“I think we’re really blessed to live here. I spent 11 years in Detroit, and when I came to Oldham County, it was like dying and going to heaven.”
The Sharon, Pa., native was accompanied by his wife, Cathie, at the dinner. The couple met while attending the University of Detroit, where Scott earned a bachelor’s degree in 1967. He moved to Lexington, Ky., in 1969 to teach architecture at UK. He only taught four years at UK but spent 35 years in educating others about his craft. While in

Oldham Countians
of the Year

Past Winners
2004 Fran Scott
2003 Barry & Bobbie Stoess
2002 Mary Broecker
2001 Kevin Eldridge
2000 W. Blake Haselton
1999 Jonathan Westbrook
1998 Joan Bryant
1997 Jim Zimmerman
1996 Bill Howard
1995 Steve Shultz
1994 Charles “Dee” Kelley
1993 Eddy Barber
1992 Robert A. Reid
1991 Dianne Earing
1990 Lee Clore
1989 Harold Smith
1988 Jim Hannah
1987 Dennis Deibel
1986 Gene Armstrong
1985 Bruce Hamilton
1984 A.L. Meacham
1983 Edward G. Houchin
1982 Howard Mahan
1981 Vivian Renhardt
1980 Dennis Fritz
1979 Robert Arvin
1978 Wendell Moore
1977 Arvel McMahan
1976 George F. Williamson
1975 Jim Chambers
1974 James A. Hall
1973 Richard Beard
1972 J.T. Walsh, M.D.
1971 Clayton Stoess Sr.
1970 Richard Radcliffe
1969 Charles F. Lambert
1968 Hiram Taylor
1967 Clyde Taylor
1966 Joe Tom Clifton
1965 Alton Ross
1964 Milton C. Stoess

Lexington, he worked 11 years at CAW Architects during which time he helped design the Kentucky Horse Park and the Radisson Hotel Plaza in downtown Lexington.
The couple, who have three children, sons Marty and Chris, and daughter Sarah Rottinghaus, then moved to Oldham County, where he set to work in designing parks and schools for five districts, including those in Buckner and Goshen among other projects. As part of his economic development contributions, he coined the slogan, “We’re on Track,” still used today by La Grange merchants.
Three years ago, Scott helped lead the effort to create the Oldham County Economic Development Authority, whose mission was to develop a business and industrial park in Oldham County as a way of attracting new business. Scott served three terms as the authority’s board president.
He also has served on the chamber board and one stint as its chairman from 1992-93. He served six years on the chamber’s Showcase committee, chairing in 1998. Scott is active in the La Grange Rotary Club and several other organizations.
Currently, Scott’s firm is working on the master plan for the pending Glen and Eddie Mundo parks, as well as Peggy Baker Park for Fiscal Court and the City of La Grange Main Street Walks, tree plans and town clock design. He has done work on Eagle Creek Golf Course.
“We have boundless opportunities in this county. I’m so proud to be involved so far and will do whatever I can to get us where we’re going,” Scott told the crowd.
In his videotaped remarks, Klausing called his partner “a visionary who likes to look well into the future.”
When his business was destroyed by fire three years ago, Scott never missed an economic development meeting, said Barry Stoess. “He told me at the time, ‘We’re starting this project about 10 years behind schedule, so we can’t wait for me to reorganize my business,’ “ Stoess recalled.
Scott said he was a product of the genes given to him by his parents. “My mother was a busy body and my father was a workaholic, and this is what you get when you combine the two.”


In business affairs, the chamber voted to add six new members to its 15-member board of directors for 2004-05. The board has a minimum of 12 members who serve three-year terms of office, beginning July 1 of each year.
The following members were elected to serve on the board: Ashley Blakemore of McCafferty & Hutter Advertising; Eric Liedtke of National City Bank; Jim Patrick of The Oldham Era; Diana Polsgrove of the Oldham County Tourism Commission; Jonathan Westbrook of East & Westbrook Construction; and attorney John Ellis, who was elected to complete a one-year term for a vacancy that occurred.

Back to June 2004 Articles.



Copyright 1999-2015, Kentuckiana Publishing, Inc.

Pick-Up Locations Subscribe Staff Advertise Contact Submit A Story Our Advertisers Columnists Archive Area Links Area Events Search our Site Home Monthly Articles Calendar of Events Kentucky Speedway Madison Chautauqua Madison Ribberfest Madison Regatta